Muse Monday

Standard

Muse Monday ~
This week I’m going to some character building. I’m using a writing prompt from 1,000 Character writing prompts: Villains, heroes, and hams…by Bryan Cohen for my prompt. I keep a file of possible secondary characters (pictures I’ve ripped out of magazines, random characters I develop while people watching, etc.). I do this so I don’t ‘fall’ into a ‘character rut’ – writing characters that I’m familiar with.
I have found the key to using writing prompt is I have to use random selection and then I have to write THAT prompt or I spend the day trying to find a prompt that ‘excites’ my muse.
I picked #26 (the date) and it is (drummmmmm roll)…

26. As you attempt to save a village, you are forced to partner up with a wanted thief with a heart of silver. He says he’s after treasure buried to the center of town, but he slips up and you realize that his love of riches is subservient to his desire to see the boorish warlord pay for his crimes. Behind his mustache and his ability to work his way out of a sticky situation, there is a loyal and honorable man there. He covers it up by boasting about how amazing he is, but you can see right through that. How did this good man end up a thief and your partner?
It’s funny as I was filling out the Character Building worksheets Disney characters came to mind… I don’t necessary see cartoon characters in this light 0_o

NOTE: These are just outlines of characters… I sort through them and if I find one that would work in my WIP I develop it more – I.e. eye color, hair color, etc. These are more of a personality glance

Build A Character Worksheet: Type of Character: Secondary – level 2
Male in most cases but could be female – this would demand more development making it a level 1 secondary character
Male:
Name: Rathlin – Depends on the nature of the story – would have a nickname.
Physical feature: handsome with a flaw – (like Flynn in Tangled)
Personality Feature: He’s very complex but only a few levels would be revealed. He’s in the story for a purpose to prod the hero/heroine. With his backstory he’d want to be center stage…
Purpose: The hero/heroine has a single goal in mind. While it is a ‘worthy’ goal… Rathlin has much more in mind… The hero/heroine is happy freeing the village but Rathlin wants the warlord to swing.
Picture:

Flynn from Tangled...

 

Flynn from Tangled

Flynn from Tangled

 

 

 

 

 

Female: Level 1 secondary character
Name: Layla –
Physical feature: She would most likely disguise her true appearance. She is widely known but only as a ‘shadow’. And all believe the ‘shadow’ is a male
Personality Feature: She is very hard edge. A) because she believes she needs to make up for being a girl B) she is scared if develops relationships she loose her motives
Purpose: The same as the male character only it would be much more personal – the warlord killed her family type of thing
Picture:

Mulan

Mulan

layla 2

 

Leave a Reply

