Monday Muse

Standard

Building a Character…

I like to have a full pool of characters developed to some degree to pick from when writing.  Changing or adding whatever traits I need to make them fit my current WIP. Character building is also a great way for me to get into the ‘writing mood’ when I would rather be doing anything else. (Sometimes it’s soooo bad, I’d rather fold laundry! Yikes)

One of favorite what ways to build characters is to use a tarot deck or an oracle deck. Today, I’m using the oracle desk. I picked a random card…. The Queen of the Golden Bough. I don’t read/research or allow what this cards means come into play or the card’s name. I want to build a unique character.

What type of character will she be??

What type of character will she be??

The first thing I do is list the 3 things about the card that catch my eye.

1)      The creatures surrounding

2)      The red eyes behind her

3)      The necklace (the larger one)

Then I brainstorm questions about these 3 things…

1) The creatures?

Are they all ‘together’?

What are they roles in her life?

Do they know about each other?

2) The eyes?

Are they watching her?

If so does she know they are?

Do they mean her harm?

Is the scarf around her neck being used by the ‘eyes’ to control her?

The eyes are actually looking to her right so maybe they see danger and ‘creatures’ are trying to pull her away

 

3) The necklace?

Since she’s wearing a smaller one that is fitting for her outfit, this must have a ‘different’ significance.

Does it have magical powers?

Is it used by the ‘eyes’ to communicate with her? To control her?

Is it linked to her health?

As I start to answer these questions her role (secondary/primary) starts to form. While there is a lot going on in the card, I still feel as if she’s a secondary character. Maybe she’s being held prisoner or being manipulated by a king or queen of a different race? (the crown is leading me in this direction).

I’d love to hear some of character building activities or what were some of the things that caught your interest about the card.

 

Leave a Reply

